CHINA’s First Female Surfer, Interview with Darci Liu

February 10, 14

Marina Garvey Birch

Meet Darci Liu, China’s first professional female surfer!

Think of China and surfing probably doesn’t spring to mind straight away. However, China’s first professional female surfer is making waves in raising China’s position in the world of watersports. Meet 27-year-old Darci Liu. In just a few years the trailblazing young woman went from never having seen the ocean, to riding swells with world-renowned professionals. We caught up with her after Chinese New Year to find how she’s getting on.

‘I was screaming the whole time!’ Darci Liu reflects on the first time she stood up on a surfboard. “To be on the board, is very simple- its fun.’ Having moved to Sanya in 2007, the coastal city of Hunan province, Darci was only 20 years old when she finally learnt to swim, and in the same year learnt to surfboard. She took to surfboarding like chopsticks to dumplings. ‘It bought a very simple kind of happiness- happiness from nature- which you never get from anything else’.

Darci grew up about 1000km from the sea, in the town of Enshi, Hebei province. ‘Where I grew up, I never took a swimming lesson. All I had was a big river, but my parents would not let me go in because it is very dangerous.’ However more and more Chinese people are getting into splashing around, ‘there are parents in Shanghai, Beijing and other big cities who are sending their children to swimming lessons.’ Darci champions’ people giving swimming a chance, ‘even if you are not going to be a surfer, I think it is good for life!’

Having studied ballet as a young girl up to the age of 16, Darci was already used to training hard physically. She recalls balance and confidence as the only common ground between surfing and ballet though and claims that “surfing is all about the freedom to enjoy, but ballet is more rigid- the movements have to be correct.” Darci found out about surfing through her Californian husband who is also a professional surfer. “When I first moved to Sanya I had no job, I did nothing, I was kind of lonely and angry. I was a person I didn’t like that much! After I found surfing, I found myself. I got my confidence back. There is more to be found in appreciating rather than just complaining in the world. You know, surfing made me happy. Once I was happy, I had lots of opportunities come to me! All these experiences I have had and who I am becoming right now is all down to surfing.”

Surfing has got more popular in recent years along side skate boarding and snowboarding. ‘When I first moved to Sanya in 2007, there were not many surfers. Now there is a lot more! There were a lot of tourists and foreigners who live in China and already knew how to surf and they would come down here to practice. But now, what you see is so many Chinese people- they come down from Beijing or Shanghai. They hear about surfing and they want a chance to try it; to surf in their own country- which is great!’

Darci Liu is not only one of few Chinese to get into surfing, she is also the first female professional. “You can look at 10 years ago, at Chinese women, and you think of surfing? You think that’s crazy right! But right now, I think young girls are really cool, they really want to learn new things.” Darci is breaking traditions of shying away from the beach incase of getting a tan, and is an inspiration for young people who want to get into sports. For Darci, surfing does not carry gender inequalities. I can see nothing that would make girls and also boys not want to learn how to surf!’

Darci is positive about the journey China has made in surfing over the last few years. “Especially that international surf contests are holding in China, and we have at least 2 girls from China surfing in the contests! I feel proud, and I feel lucky. If we think about 5 years ago, we probably wouldn’t have a girl surfing! Even though we are not at world level yet- at least we are here. We are surfing better every year. It gives hope for the young generation who want to surf!”

Swatch brand sponsors Darci’s career, enabling her to travel worldwide. But the surfer has her feet firmly on the ground- or the board- in her surfing success: ‘I always think that I am very lucky. I appreciate all the opportunities I have in my life.’ She is clearly proud to represent her country, discussing how the Swatch proteam has “helped to promote not just myself but also surfing in China. Now people know me, they know about surfing in China. That’s a huge thing!”

Unable to pinpoint her favourite moment on the board illustrates just how much Darci feels at home surfing swells. “Every wave is the best wave! There are moments I remember; my first time doing a turn, in that moment it was the best wave I had ever had. Then, the first time I rode for a long time, became the best wave I ever had. Every time you surf better, at that moment that’s the best wave.”

Highlights in Darci’s career so far involve competing in the World Longboard Championships 3 years running. But Darci once again does not toot her own horn. “There are many surfer girls in Australia or Hawaii who are much better then me! There is more competition over there, its not easy, they can surf really good but they cannot be the first female professional because there are so many surfers in their country already. So, for me I think I am very lucky- I started at the right time.” However, competition is the last thing on Darci’s mind nowadays. “I am thinking now I want to surf more just to enjoy surf. If there is a good contest coming, that I would like to take part in, I will, but now I don’t want to compete.

(not sure if this is relevant) Not only Hainan is a destination for surfing scallywags, you can also catch a huge event at China’s Qiantang River. But not only is the 460-kilometer river home to an annual festival attracting the best surfers from around the world, it’s also the site of a rare wave phenomenon that has been mesmerizing tourists for centuries. Each autumn, a huge wave surges up the river. At nine-meters high and traveling at 40 kilometers per hour, the “Silver Dragon,” as it is known, is the largest tidal bore in the world and so powerful that only a small number of hefty commercial boats are allowed on the river at the same time.

Darci’s love of surfing goes beyond being in the water. “I also own a surf shop/restaurant. In summer time, we have surf lessons and board rentals. In the winter time when there are no waves, it is a beach bar/restaurant, and we still take people on a trip around the beach to learn how to surf.” In her spare time, Darci organises fundraisers for Bright Connections (http://thebrightconnection.org/) – a centre that helps disabled children in Sanya.

 

“I really hope surfing grows in the right way in China. I hope more people not only try to surf, but learn about surf culture too. Surf culture is about being positive, to care about what’s around you; it’s a lifestyle.” So the future for China and surfboarding looks bright. “If you live in China for many years you can see that popularity of snowboarding and skateboarding is growing really fast. It’s because of the branding, and the media are really pushing the sports. I know that the media and many brands are interested in pushing surfing in China and other water sports. I think it will keep growing!”

Darci’s dazzling outlook on life is infectious. “Surfing gives your brain a wash, you know? You think different, you act different. Surfing is a very free sport, its give you a different kind of confidence.”

Check out: Darci Liu’s website: http://darciliu.com/

FIRST PUBLISHED IN THAT’s BEIJING, FEBRUARY 2014. http://www.thatsmags.com/beijing

Leave a comment